Now starting to get the hang of Linux. My biggest concern was that i may not be able to run N1MM contest software under Linux. Tried running it under WINE but no joy. then decided to install VirtualBox OSE, installed Windows XP Home under it as a virtual machine and N1MM installed in the XP virtual PC perfectly. I now need to fiddle a little to make my COM ports available to the XP VM but I’m pretty sure that can be done. So my Linux experience gets better every day. I have Linux Mint on my PC as a dual boot giving me the choice of Windows or Linux at boot. then when in Linux Mint I can run any Windows only software via my XP VM. So now I have the best of all worlds. If this works ok the way I want it.  I’ll totally wipe my 2TB hard disk and install Linux Mint as my primary OS. Then I’ll install a Windows Vista VM for those few Windows apps that need it.

I anyone is actually reading this BLOG and has Linux experiences to share, I’d love to hear from you.

N1MM running in an XP VM undr Linux Mint

N1MM running in an XP VM undr Linux Mint

About Dave, G8FXM

A Radio Ham, mainly interested in Six Metres.
This entry was posted in Linux, Projects. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to

  1. Adrian says:

    Hi Dave
    I managed to get N1MM Logger working on LinuxMINT with WINE. Check out the N1MM Logger website and you’ll find the instructions. Like you I have XP running on VBox VM, but am slowly moving off that.

    Cheers

    Adrian MW1LCR

Leave a Reply

