SRD Project Plan

So now I think I have the outline of my SDR project Plan:

  1. Extract 1st IF from IC-746 (9Mhz).
  2. Purchase a 9Mhz version of the Cross Country Wireless SDR Reciever.
  3. Run Cross Country Wireless SDR Receiver into SRD Radio.COM SDR Console Client.
  4. Fix Omni Rig Client problem

Luverly Jubbly!

About Dave, G8FXM

A Radio Ham, mainly interested in Six Metres.
This entry was posted in Projects, SDR. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to SRD Project Plan

  1. Rob says:

    Hi Dave, interesting… although the IC746 has a first IF of 69.01MHz? The second IF, however, is around 9.01MHz. I have found what might be a suitable point to tap it off, at the top of R503 on the corner of the Main Unit PCB which is right after the 2nd IF mixer, but before the filters. However, I don’t fancy much the added capacitance coax would add when connecting the Clifton Labs buffer amp in circuit. Just wondering if you have modded your radio yet, and how it went. Oh, and which IF you ended up using? 73 – Rob VK2GOM / G0MOH

    • Dave, G8FXM says:

      Hi Rob,
      Apologies for the late reply, I’ve been out of circulation for a while. I’m afraid I never completed this project as I had an offer of an FT2000D which I couldn’t refuse so I traded my trusty old IC-746 in for the 2000.
      I still have all the bits and the IF amp I purchased, but never completed the project as it would have devalued the tradin in value for the rig. I was proposing to try and sniff off the If just after the filter (Ithink in the same area you have identified), although I never tested my theory the IP amp should to an excellent job of isolation and make up any losses providing a usable level.

      Let me know if you actually get round to completing this project.

  2. K3IT says:

    Just in case somebody is looking for the IC-746 IF SDR solution. I did try the 9MHz IF and it is not useful on this radio. You would only get about 15 kHz bandwidth because at this second IF stage the signal is already filtered by a crystal filter in the first IF. The only way I can think of to get a panadapter working with IC-746 is to either tap to the 69 IF before the roofing filter (I could not find a convenient spot) or use the HRX line and basically split the RX between the transceiver and the SDR…

    • karl says:

      On the IC-746 the 1st IF tap works fine with a buffer amplifier.
      See project details at:
      dh1da.darc.de/projekte/Amateurfunk/Panadapter/Panadapter.htm

Leave a Reply

