Antenna Tests

Decided to use the CQWW-SSB contest to determine who effective my Carolina Windom is. the thought process behind this was, plenty of activity should be able to make contacts virtually everywhere. No that good a plan as it turns out. So much QRM and general bedlam making it difficult to be heard. However It seems I’m getting out ok around Europe on 80M and 40M I suspect better on 40M. This is to be expected as the CWS80 is a compromise on 80M and as stated in the literature willbe 4bd down on a dipole. At only just over a “S” point on a band where signals are usually strong I can live with this but not a DX antenna on 80M. I made it stateside but I know it was difficult for the to hear me by the number of callsign repeats I had to make. Need to get the far end further up into the air.

About Dave, G8FXM

A Radio Ham, mainly interested in Six Metres.
This entry was posted in Antenna. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

