2 Element Cubical Quad for 10, 6 & 4

With the sudden improvement in conditions on 10 Metres lately hopefully marking the start of the present solar cycle, I desperately need a better antenna than the Carolina Windom. Don’t get me wrong as a general purpose antenna, it does well, but when it comes to working the long distance DX, I can barley hear it and certainly cant work it, I seem to get into South America Ok but JA, Hong Kong, Borneo etc are no go areas for me. Planning restrictions being what they are preclude me from putting up a high band HF DX antenna without great time and effort, but I’m thinking if I focus on just one band, 10 Metres I could get a 2 element Cubical Quad up with minimal risk of the neighbours objecting, particularly as these antenna don’t have to be particularly high to be effective.
I have been drawn to a design by N1UUE, in the link below, this uses all readily available plumbing materials and although the spreaders aren’t guyed in this design, due to the small size I think I can get away with it.

So while I’m at it, I don’t see any reason why I cant add elements for 6 and 4 meters, it may be a compromise on front to back ratio as a compromise will have to be made on boom length i.e. not being optimal on any band, but I think it may work. I think this is a project worthy of further investigation. More details as I{ progress, fr now the link below is to N1UUE’s website.

http://www.hamuniverse.com/n1uue2el1011quad.html

Also WB2MIC’s design for a 3 element 6 Metre cubical quad out of PVC plumbing materials is also useful reference for this project:

http://www.metaphoria.us/hamradio/6_meter_quad.htm

About Dave, G8FXM

A Radio Ham, mainly interested in Six Metres.
This entry was posted in Antenna, Projects. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 2 Element Cubical Quad for 10, 6 & 4

  1. Hi Dave, I ran across your page from a google search and was wondering if you have decided to give my design a wirll. The quad project was a lot of fun and its still up and working despite several tough windy cold Maine winters. Oh sorry Bob E. here N1UUE. I experimented with an adjustable boom length but I have it still sitting in my basement ready to install but hate to pull down my exsisting one. The only reason for the 10 meter design, that’s what I have for a rig and the rest of the spectrum is on my wish list when I get a full HF radio. Hope you go forward with the new design and the only recomendations if you grow it, add a stifner inside the PVC Boom (Wooden Dowel) to support the extra weight.. http://home.gwi.net/~eastcom1/zquad.htm my web page and send me some pic’s of your progress, I would like to see how it works out for you ok 73’s from across the pond Bob E N1UUE robteastcom1@hotmail.com. Oh this might help adding more elements maybe a director element. This is a 6 way that you can slide any where along the length of the boom pipe http://flexpvc.com/cart/agora.cgi Good Luck…

  2. Dave, G8FXM says:

    Hi Bob, Thanks for the info. I’m afraid I’ve stalled on the project as I’m currently wondering if i can add a 6 Metre and even a 4 Metre element to the Quad. Doing this will obviously affect the original 10 Metre element so in my limited spare time I’m trying to figure out how to make these calculations. I’ll let you know how I get on.

    • Robert E says:

      Hi Dave, Well I didn’t take down the original quad; I moved south. : ) Not sure what the new home owner did with it after I got out of town. I did bring all the parts to assemble the new version. I moved here to North Carolina, Goldsboro last September of 2013. We now live in a duplex and the Landlord might see the thing towering above the roof. Arr well, us Hams will always find a way to get back on the air. Hope all is across the pond. Take care Dave and 73’s from NC. N1UUE – Out…

Leave a Reply

